The 5 Items You Need to Make a Kid Birthday Card

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 10.04.21 AM

You know what really grinds my gears? (Thanks Family Guy for that one) I hate buying occasional cards for more than 4 dollars…and 3 dollars is even pushing it, but I’ll do a $3.89 card if in a pinch.

Every time I’m standing in the aisle browsing through the bubble gum pink section for birthday cards for her or in the powder blue section for him I pick up a card and say a couple things to myself including “Ugh, these are so boring,” or “This has no personal touch,” or “Shoot, I could make this!” Especially this last one. Although, at these times, I could make the card, I usually can’t because I waited to the last minute. So, I don’t have time to make one. This is usually because I didn’t put it on my schedule, but that’s the old me and a whole other post.

In my effort to simplify things in my head and to trick myself into actually doing it, I have mastered making cards simply and with the quickness. And you just need 5 items to do the same.

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 5.45.33 PM

+

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 5.43.47 PM

Blank Card & Envelope

Stamps & Ink

Glitter

Glue Stick

Black Sharpie

I use glitter because what woman kid does’t love glitter?!

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 10.44.35 PM

Front of Card

  1. Draw a huge number representing the age of the child. I drew the 5 with pencil (optional–you could just draw it with sharpie first). For this card, I free handed the 5 because I didn’t have a stencil this big.
  2. Stamp the party hat at a tilt like the 5 is pimpin the hat. Make sure to glide the stamp over the ink and lightly press it (you don’t want any ink to get on parts that are not the stamp because then it could transfer to the card).
  3. Outline the 5 with sharpie. This is important to do before you glue because if you wait until after, the glue will create a surface that won’t allow you to write over and the sharpie outline will look jacked.
  4. Use the glue stick to fill in the 5 within the outline
  5. Then gently pour the glitter over the glued area while the card is laying flat. You’re going to want to lay the card on a hard surface (or a small bowl), so that you can sweep the glitter up and put back in the container. There will be a good deal of fallout and don’t nobody want to waste all that glitter!

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 12.49.02 AM

Inside of Card

  1. Write the kid’s name in big uppercase letters with sharpie at the top. I used letter stickers. I had some leftover from an old project.
  2. Stamp your message. I used “Hooray!” and “It’s Your Birthday”
  3. Then I always like to add my personal touch by writing a special message for the birthday boy or girl.

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 7.51.31 AM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back of Card

  1. Since YOU made the card, your name should be on the back. Shoot, Hallmark does it. You have to maintain your brand! Ha!

Eventually I want to get an Approaching Zenith stamp, but for now I just handwrite my logo on the back and put the year, and this works just fine.

 

And there is your kid birthday card that you can do in 10 minutes or less.

Make it cute, but don’t spend too much time on it because honestly, most parents won’t keep the cards for very long. Although, I do keep all these mementos.

For real though, you can use this same design for adults as well. It’s simple and by making the card it shows that you care that much, to spend your time creating for them.

Oh wait….but don’t include how old they are on the front! Just put a Huge H and B for Happy Birthday. Whew, that was a close one.

To see more projects like this and for freebies, subscribe here. See you soon!

Shadé

 

Leave a Reply

