DIY Super Hero Party

Screen Shot 2015-12-08 at 6.12.10 PM

Kid Super hero parties are so fun! If I had enough time, I would have made a cape for myself!

Last weekend, My husband and I threw a Super Hero Birthday Party for our 3 year old. Now, I planned this party in 6 days, with a 3 year old and 5 week old in tote. Granted I’m on maternity leave, so I had a little more flexibility. Regardless of that, if I can do it, you can do it too!

When I plan events and parties, my guests always say, “Wow, you are so creative!” And yes, I am (heh heh), but anybody can do it. All you need is Pinterest for inspiration, and a plan for prep, and a little time.

So let me do a quick walk-through of the party features. I’ll do separate posts with more details and where to find each activity/feature later:

I found a super hero themed invite on Paperless Post-my fav online invitation tool. You can find that here and search “super hero.”

 

And here is the snack and dessert table where the super hero theme comes alive

Screen Shot 2015-12-08 at 8.58.17 AM

The super hero costume table: The capes, I made from t-shirts from the dollar store; personalized super hero letters for each kid at the party, an Avengers bag which had a gift from his teacher in it–it’s there for extra super hero inspiration as they create.There’s also paper to go on toilet paper rolls for cuffs. The masks and stars to decorate are not shown here.

Screen Shot 2015-12-08 at 9.01.10 AM

And POW! The super hero costume in action.

Screen Shot 2015-12-05 at 10.07.36 PM

Tower building–to knock down of course!

Screen Shot 2015-12-08 at 9.59.05 AM

DIY Super Hero Punch Box- a different take on the piñata. Love this. The kids punch a hole to find goodies for their treat bag. I had to rush this project, so it didn’t come out exactly how I wanted–I basically didn’t secure the insides with enough tape to endure all the super hero action and bumps before we used it–but it did the job, and the kids didn’t even notice. I mean…there was candy inside.

Screen Shot 2015-12-08 at 9.07.03 AM

And for the piece de resistance and my favorite activity: the flying super hero photo op

Screen Shot 2015-12-08 at 10.02.09 AM

ok..I’ll admit it. If you can’t already tell from the outfit change, this pic is not from the day of the party. Do you know how difficult it is to get 3 year olds to pose for something like this?? And there were only 2!

They were pickin up the props, movin all around, and I was readjusting their capes every minute!

So, yes, to get a better shot, I set up the flying landscape again the next morning, and re-shot the photo.

This was the first kid party I threw, so I learned some key lessons to take with me for next time.

And there it is!

I’ll have feature posts on each activity at the party coming up in the next week. Subscribe why don’t ya to get these posts and other DIY projects straight to your inbox!

Shadé

 

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Super Hero Party

Leave a Reply

